Colbert Students with Character In Action

TUSCUMBIA–This semester’s Character In Action ceremony took place last week in Judge Chad Coker’s Court Room at the Colbert County Court House. Recognized students and school systems include:--

Colbert County: Leeah Watson, Shannon Williams (not present), Kadyn Jackson, and Maggie Ball.

Muscle Shoals:: Arlett Ricks, Rosilyn Garry, Mason McBride, and Ella Anderson.

Sheffield:: Clarence Tyson, Nathan Jimenez, Jaycee Lingelbach, and Brynne Grabryan.

Tuscumbia: Tucker Wallace, Cooper Hill, Micah Bernard, Joshua Smith.

The room was full of bright smiles and loud applause.

Coker praised the group, saying they are the students who “show good character when no one is looking.”

He added that he’s thankful that teachers and administrators in the schools do take notice of the students behavior as they are the ones who nominate the students for the Colbert County Children’s Policy Council award each semester.

Colbert County Chief Juvenile Probation Officer and Children’s Policy Council Interim Coordinator, Lee Cox, afterward offered many thanks to the Children’s Policy Council members who make the event possible.

A special thanks to Dr. Dennis Woods for overseeing the project! Thanks to Jenna Brooks Smith for always making sure the cash awards make it inside the gift bags! CIA is proof that Colbert County has the best children displaying strong moral character and care for one another.

“Such acknowledgement is what the program is all about,” Cox said. “These students are examples for us all,”